Yalda

We recently held our annual Yalda party which was a great success with close to 120 people enjoying the food, music and the performances by the children.

Some of the older children did a reading explaining Yalda.

Yalda 2011 - Childrens Reading

Yalda 2011 - Childrens Reading

This was followed by a dance by the younger children. They all put a lot of work into learning and practicing for the performances and it was loved by everyone there.

Yalda 2011 - Childrens Performance

Yalda 2011 - Childrens Performance

 

We truly enjoyed ourselves at the Yalda evening, especially Maya. She had such good fun dancing and performing.
She has proudly been telling her friends about the dance and her evening.
Shirin, IYDA parent member
 
 

IYDA Spring Programme – 7 January – 31 March 2012

* This has been slightly updated, the linked file has been updated too 11th January 2012 – Mark *

LANGUAGE CLASSES: 12.00 NOON – 2 P.M. YOUTH CLUB ACTIVITIES: 2 P.M. – 5 P.M.

Saturday 7th January 2012: IYDA Open Day! – Displays, art workshop, refreshments, Football & cooking class

Saturday 14th January 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi Classes – ASSESSMENTS & WORKSHOP
  • 2.30pm Paper lantern making, storytelling, sports

Saturday 21st January 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2pm Paper Mache, football, storytelling

Sunday 22nd January 2012

FREE Day Trip to British Museum for preview of the Hajj Exhibition (1.45pm meet at front of museum, 2pm entrance to exhibition). Tickets are limited so speak to Sanaz if you would like to attend.

Saturday 28th January 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2pm cooking, football, storytelling

Saturday 4th February 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2.00pm Origami/basketball/storytelling

Saturday 11th February 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2.30pm Self defence/karate taster session (family) & sports

Saturday 18th February 2012 : Half term

Saturday 25th February 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2.00pm Key ring making/Football/Iranian Film screening

Saturday 3 March 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2.00pm Football / New art project: TBC

Saturday 10 March 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes
  • 2.00pm Football / New art project: TBC

Saturday 17 March 2012: Preparation for Nourouz

Saturday 24 March 2012: IYDA Norouz Event

Saturday 31 March 2012

  • 12-2pm Farsi classes – GCSE MOCK TESTS
  • 2.00pm DAY TRIP: Rafi Festival of Arts, Crafts and Food at Rathbone market, Canning Town

Unaccompanied Minors Project residential: Date TBC

Saturday 7-14 April 2012 – Easter Holiday

Saturday 21 April: Return to IYDA
You can download a copy of this Spring Programme here.